Middletown North Inducts 9 Into 2023 Hall of Fame


Lion's Roar Staff

The Middletown High School North Hall of Fame ceremony on May 11, 2023 recognized nine of Middletown North’s distinguished student athletes that have made a lasting impact on not only Middletown North, but the Middletown community. The event which was hosted by the Middletown North student Government featured 9 men and women that have not only accomplished great athletic feats while wearing the orange and black, but have also paid it forward with their contributions to our future Lions as well. The event was hosted by MHSN Hall of Fame Director Mr. Jon Scala, juniors Brandon Chuisano and Kaylen Skye Volante. The event featured an introduction video recognizing the inductees as well as an award presentation and a speech delivered by each new member of the Hall of Fame.

This years inductees were: Distinguished Alumni Award Winner Nishan Patel (2012), Thomas Blevins (1966), Jessie Chalmers (2003), Taylor Crosby (2008), Len Florio (1971), Mike Florio (1971), Chad Freshnock (2016), Ken Freshnock (1982) and Justin Lippert (2014).

Guests and members of the community observing the All Shore Posters located at Middletown North’s Wall of Champions
The class was determined by a sixteen member committee that narrowed their final list to twenty three before casting their final votes for this year’s inductees. In order to be inducted, nominees must receive a 75% “yes” vote by the committee. This year marks the first time in nearly a decade that the the Hall of Fame inducted a class.

Following the ceremony, all of the guests proceeded to the Wall of Champions area to unveil their Hall of Fame plaques and also view the All-Shore posters that have been displayed in the athletic wing of Middletown High School North.